Remembering Paris Galettes: Buckwheat Crepes Recipe

Remembering Paris Galettes: Buckwheat Crepes Recipe

My first memory of a crepe was when I was 5 or 6 years old.  I remember seeing the bright yellow crepe, folded like a perfect linen napkin and topped with sweetened fruits.  If I remember correctly, there was also rich ice cream and a sprinkling of powdered sugar.  It was so good, I remember thinking this dessert was better than a cupcake!  {Click here for my sweet bananas crepe recipe}

Fast forward 15 years.  I am strolling the streets of Paris alone, amazed and overwhelmed, with only the Eiffel tower to guide my sense of direction.  Too nervous to go into a cafe, I stopped at one of the many carts that line the narrow streets.  I remember the street food choices were purely Parisian: baguettes, waffles, pastries and crepes.  Each cart operator was part salesman, part street performer.  They would call out to passerby’s, using big smiles with eyes bright and wide, and when a customer stopped, they would create a dish with pure showmanship and efficiency. 

My stack of crepes.

“Ah, mademoiselle,” the crepe maker said, “Je vous écoute.” 

My French was so shaky and I was so nervous, all I could do was smile and point. 

“Ah,” he replied, “galette.”

“No, no,” I answered quickly, “crepe.”

He smiled and slowly shook his head.  “This we call a galette.” 

And with that he handed me a buckwheat crepe, stuffed with cheese and chopped herbs, and wrapped in paper for me to carry away.  It was by far one of the most delicious foods I had ever tasted.

Whenever I make crepes at home, I prefer to make all the crepes at once, then stuff or fold them as I please.  Somedays, I fill the crepes with ham and eggs, somedays it’s rich creamy brie and chopped herbs, and other times, it’s smoked salmon and fresh dill (much like Russian blinis).  Buckwheat crepes are so simple and savory, they pair well with fresh salads, fruits, a cup of coffee, and especially a glass of wine.  Bon appetit!

Buckwheat Crepes
Makes about 8-10 large crepes

1/2 cup buckwheat flour

Crepes are filled and folded.

1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon kosher salt
2 eggs
1 3/4 cup whole milk
4 tablespoons butter (melted)
Additional butter for the pan
Freshly cracked black pepper

Tip: I use two pyrex dishes and a good whisk to bring this batter together.  Assemble the batter at least one hour prior to meal time.

Whisk the flours and salt together in bowl.  In a separate container, whisk the 1 1/4 cups of milk and the eggs.  Combine the milk and flours together and whisk thoroughly.  Once fully combined, add the melted butter.  Wrap in plastic and refrigerate for at least one hour or overnight.

Large measuring cups make it easy.

After an hour has passed, remove batter from refrigerator and allow to come to room temperature (approximately 30 minutes).  Whisk in remaining 1/4 cup of milk.  Keep the whisk handy as you will need to stir the batter before every crepe is made. 

Heat a large crepe pan or skillet over medium high heat.  Melt a pat of butter and add about 1/3 cup of the batter.  Swirl the batter around the pan to create a thin circle.  Your first crepe will always be your test piece.  It might come out correctly, it might not.  Taste it.  If the batter needs to be sweetened, add a little bit of sugar.  If it needs to be richer, add a tablespoon of melted butter. 

Make a stack of crepes.  When ready to fill, crack fresh black pepper over each crepe.  Stuff, fold or roll crepes and insert into a 325 degree oven for 5 minutes to warm.

Buckwheat crepe with fruit and salad.

Comments

  1. Bradder says:

    This brings so many memories of so many crepes and galettes en France, in the street, at the farmers market, at friends’ houses at crepe parties! Do you flip your crepes/galettes? I always do and like trying to flip it by tossing it from the pan itself.

Leave a Reply

